K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 Centers - Block Play

Articles on Block Play

Block Play: Building a Child’s Mind - http://www.woodentoy.com/html/BlocksGoodToy.html A copy of NAEYC article

Building Blocks - http://www.gse.buffalo.edu/org/buildingblocks/ This is the outline of a program of using blocks, puzzles and other manipulatives to reinforce mathematical concepts. A good read; excerpts excellent for handouts.

Community Playthings: Block Play - http://www.communityplaythings.com/resources/articles/blocks/index.html   Addresses 4 issues: theory, setting up, organizing, and problem-solving

Kids/Blocks/Learning - http://www.yale.edu/ynhti/curriculum/units/1993/1/93.01.01.x.html A curriculum guide to educational pedagogy on block play

Teaching Ideas

Pinterest: Learning through Building/Block Play - https://www.pinterest.ca/darlamyers/learning-through-buildingblock-play/ 167+ pins

Pinterest: Provocations for Block Play - https://www.pinterest.ca/dwina092/provocations/

Creative Lesson Plans Using Building Blocks - http://backtoblocks.com/creative-lesson-plans-using-building-blocks
Pinterest: Blocks and Building Activities - https://www.pinterest.ca/jeanzy312/blocks-building-activities/ 500+ pins
Pinterest: Lesson Plans - Construction Play - https://www.pinterest.ca/christinash/lesson-plans-construction-play/ 70 pins
25 Building and Engineering Activities for Kids - http://www.kidsplaybox.com/building-engineering-activities-kids/
Inspiring the next generation of engineers - http://engineeringforkids.com/

Pinterest: Engineering Ideas for Kids - https://www.pinterest.ca/gretchenmilary/engineering-ideas-for-kids/ 249 pins

Styrofoam Building Blocks - http://www.creativekidsathome.com/activities/activity_3.html How to use meat trays, etc. to create a set of building toys

 

Online Games with Blocks

Building Blocks - http://www.kidscomjr.com/art/blocks/blocks.html online block building game

Jayzee Bear Building Blocks - http://www.jayzeebear.com/build/multi/build_block.html Online game with lots of choices for blocks

Product Links

Kiblo - http://www.kiblo.com/ for three dimensional building 

Learning Materials Workshop - http://www.learningmaterialswork.com/ Unusual and unique sets of wooden blocks that would really stimulate creative works

LEGO - http://www.lego.com/eng/Default.aspx home page

Wooden Blocks by Barclay - http://www.barclaywoods.com/ This is the ultimate block site; examples of creations made by blocks; value of blocks; instructions on how to make your own wooden blocks.