K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 List Serve - Web Resources

Science - Animals - Farm
Also see: Horses
Rodeos/Western
Hatching
Ducks
Turkey
Pigs
 

4-H Virtual Farm - http://www.ext.vt.edu/resources/4h/virtualfarm/main.html  Great interactivity

A to Z Kids Stuff: Farm - http://www.atozkidsstuff.com/farm.html  integrated ideas

abcTeach: Farm - http://abcteach.com/directory/theme_units/animals/farm_unit/  Printables

All About Farm Animals - http://kiddyhouse.com/Farm/  Descriptions about various animals

Alphabet Soup: Farm Animals - http://www.alphabet-soup.net/farm/farm.html  Wonderful assortment of ideas

At the Farm - http://miksike.com/unit/  An online writing exercise for researching and composing into a book

Barnyard Babies - http://www.mightybook.com/libraries/books/barnyardbabies/barnyard_babies.htm  An online book with audio

Cyberspace Farm - http://www.cyberspaceag.com/ Explore Kansas farms and ranches

Dissection of a Cow's Eye - http://www.exploratorium.edu/learning_studio/cow_eye/ You're wondering why I included this in a K-3 web resource? Just because kids are curious... I know of one kindergarten class who did their own dissections of a cow eye, because they were curious about sight!

Down on the Farm Teaching Unit - http://www.teachingheart.net/farmunit.html  Excellent resource

Down on the Farm - http://www.valdosta.edu/~dwbarfie/topic.html  A unit prepared for a kindergarten class by a student teacher

Enchanted Learning: Farm and Farm Animals - http://www.enchantedlearning.com/themes/farmanimals.shtml  Nursery Rhymes, crafts, printables, emergent readers

Farm Animal Activities - http://www.123child.com/animals/farm.html  Excellent list of ideas

Farm Animals - http://aldertrootes.wcpss.net/farmanimalsb.html Some interactive fun

Farm Animals/Farm Life - http://edtech.kennesaw.edu/web/farmanim2.htm  Incredible list of links to search out

Farm Fun - http://www.calicocookie.com/farmfunquest.html  A web quest for primary students

Farm Unit - http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~greentown/farmunit.htm  Integrated ideas; online games

Farm Worksheets for Kids - http://kiddyhouse.com/Farm/farmwsheets.html  If you need some visuals

Farming in Alberta - http://carolvaage.net/farming%20in%20alberta.htm  To introduce children to Alberta farm animals

Farms - http://www.picadome.fcps.net/lab/currl/farm/default.htm  Good collection of links

Farms - http://library.thinkquest.org/TQ0312380/ A great place to gather information for reports.

Farms and Farm Animals - http://www.stf.sk.ca/teaching_res/library/teach_mat_centre/tmc/p11222/p11222.htm  A unit prepared by Saskatchewan U of R student

Farms Around the World - http://www.benicia.k12.ca.us/henderson/fawproject.htm  Kids share farming experiences from their area

Feather Site - http://www.feathersite.com//Poultry/BRKPoultryPage.html  Everything you want to know about poultry.

Hummingbird Ed: Farm - http://www.hummingbirded.com/  Great ideas shared by teachers

John Deere Site for Kids - http://www.johndeerekids.com/home.html  Interactivity

Kids Farm - http://www.kidsfarm.com  Lots of commercial appeals, but if you ignore that, you’ll find lots of interactivity and information; great for younger students to appreciate. I’d recommend the teacher control the flow (in a lab or on computer/monitor in the classroom) Music in the background.

Kindergarten Farm - http://www.perry-lake.k12.oh.us/pes/GradeLevelWebsites/Kindergarten/kohl/Farm/Farm.htm  Interactive

Kindergarten Tree House: Pigs - http://www.kindergartentreehouse.com/pigs.html  Excellent unit!

KinderKorner: Down on the Farm - http://www.kinderkorner.com/farm.html  Poems, songs, ideas, language arts possibilities and links

Little Giraffes: Down on the Farm - http://www.littlegiraffes.com/farm.html  Excellent

Carol's Favorite - 2005

Mrs. Pohlmeyer’s Farm Unit - http://www.mrspohlmeyerskinderpage.com/farm.htm  Excellent

Carol's Favorite - 2005

Pratt’s Resources: Farm and Farm Animals Theme - http://www.fastq.com/%7Ejbpratt/education/theme/animals/farm.html  Excellent place to collect resources and ideas.

Ropin’ the Web - http://www.agric.gov.ab.ca/app21/rtw/index.jsp  Alberta Agriculture - use the side subject headers to research crops, livestock or any other topic of farming.

Sheep Brain Dissection - http://www.exploratorium.edu/memory/braindissection/index.html Why here in a K-3 learning resource? Because kids are curious! This site develops information relating to memory.

Small Farms - http://smallfarms.typepad.com/photos/beautiful_farms/img_9186.html Huge image file to use for learning materials!

Step by Step: Farm - http://stepbystepcc.com/farm.html  this page is still under development, but has great ideas already up

Virtual Farmhouse - http://www.pbs.org/ktca/farmhouses/vf.html Flash presentation from PBS

Virtual Vine: Old MacDonald’s Farm - http://www.thevirtualvine.com/farm.html  Excellent ideas to integrate

Carol's Favorite - 2005

Wheat Mania - http://www.wheatmania.com/ Kansas Wheat Growers share history, growth, industry of wheat.

Who Took the Farmers Hat? http://www.ri.net/schools/Central_Falls/ch/heazak/farmhat.html  Extension of the book

List Serve Mailing - April 2, 2005