K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 List Serve - Web Resources

Christmas/Literature - Polar Express

Beyond Polar Express: Facts - http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2004/11/1108_041108_north_pole.html A National Geographic page with concise facts – good for research!

Chris Van Allsburg’s Home Site - http://www.chrisvanallsburg.com/flash.html Interactive

Class Brain: Polar Express - http://www.classbrain.com/artstudiomovies/uploads/arts_and_crafts.pdf Printables

Education World: Polar Express - http://www.education-world.com/a_lesson/lesson/lesson344.shtml  Many links to lessons and resources

Gail Lovely’s Polar Express - http://www.gaillovely.com/polarexpress.htm Links broken down into categories

Houghton Mifflen Pajama Reading - http://www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com/features/thepolarexpress/pdf/polarpartykit.pdf  A 20 page pdf file with printables and ideas for a special party day.

Kinderthemes: Polar Express - http://www.kinderthemes.com/thepolarexpress.html A few great ideas to use.

Little Giraffe’s: Polar Express - http://www.littlegiraffes.com/polarexpress.html Polar Express party idea

Marcia’s Lesson Plans - http://www.marcias-lesson-links.com/polarexpress.html Some printables and integrating ideas.

Mrs. Jacoby’s Polar Express - http://www.geocities.com/ljacoby_2000/polarex.html A great little predictable poem to use plus links.

Polar Express - http://www.cape.k12.mo.us/blanchard/hicks/Reading%20Pages/Polar%20Express.htm Lots of material here for K-4 grade levels.

Polar Express Lesson Plan Links - http://www.communityschool.net/topics%20of%20study/polar_express.htm Links only

Polar Express Web Links and More - http://www.rock-hill.k12.sc.us/schools/elem/nses/media/literature/polar.htm Like this one for integrating ideas across the curriculum – concise, rich.

Polar Express Web Quest – http://www.webster.edu/~rbrowne/Polar_Express/ Gr. 1-3

Polar Express Web Quest - http://www.hardin.k12.ky.us/academy/dfarmer/polarexpress.html Gr. 1-2

Polar Express Web Quest - http://www.pampetty.com/polarexpress.htm  Gr. 2-3

ProTeacher: Polar Express - http://www.proteacher.net/cgi-bin/asrchwrap.cgi?string=Polar+Express&number=0 Chat ideas of teachers sharing their ideas of what they’ve done with Polar Express – several pages worth.

Reading Rockets - http://www.readingrockets.org/ Type in Polar Express in the Search box and you’ll get great material, including transcripts of interviews with Chris Van Allsburg.

Storyline Online: Polar Express - http://www.storylineonline.net/ Select Polar Express and sit back and watch Lou Diamond Phillips read it online…! Make sure to select Full Screen for the best view!

Carol's Favorite - 2005

Teacher’s Corner: Chris Van Allsburg - http://www.theteacherscorner.net/thematicunits/vanallsburg.htm Many of the links are not working here, but still some possibilities available.

Teachers’ Mousepad - http://www.teachersmousepad.com/Christmas/Polar%20Express.htm Great ideas!

Carol's Favorite - 2005

Teaching Heart: Polar - http://www.teachingheart.net/polar.html Lots of ideas to integrate into your teaching

Warner Brothers: Flash - http://polarexpressmovie.warnerbros.com/flash/index.html You can view Flash segments of the DVD/movie.

Web English Teacher - http://www.webenglishteacher.com/vanallsburg.html Excellent ideas to extend the Polar Express into an author study.

List Serve Mailing - December 3, 2005