K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 List Serve - Web Resources

Science - Rainforest

A to Z Kids Stuff: Rainforest - http://www.atozkidsstuff.com/rainforest.html A couple of songs, plus some art ideas

abc Teach: Rainforest - http://abcteach.com/directory/theme_units/habitats/rain_forest/ printables

Amazon Photos - http://www.junglephotos.com/amazon/ Any visuals you need can be found here

Child Fun: Rainforest Activities - http://www.childfun.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=77 Ideas for integrating across the curriculum

Enchanted Learning: Rainforests - http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/rainforest/ Printables

Everything Preschool: Rain Forest - http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/rainforest/index.htm Several ideas in each category to integrate learning

Gander Academy’s Tropical Rainforest Theme - http://www.cdli.ca/CITE/rforest.htm Links to research sites, online lessons, and activity sheets

Jan Brett: Rainforest Mural - http://www.janbrett.com/mural_umbrella/umbrella_mural.htm Lots of drawings that can be blown-up to create beautiful murals; from her book “The Umbrella”

Kathi Mitchell’s Rainforest Links - http://www.kathimitchell.com/rainfor.html A nice variety

KidsConnect: Rainforest - http://kidskonnect.com/Rainforest/RainforestHome.html Lots of links to research and information sites

Learning About Rainforests - http://www.srl.caltech.edu/personnel/krubal/rainforest/serve_home.html Links to quicktime movies; research data, facts, art ideas, and lessons

Lesson Plans: Kindergarten Rainforest Unit - http://www.lessonplanspage.com/SSMDRainForestUnitK.htm 15 days of activities

Living Rainforest: Kids - http://www.livingrainforest.org/for/kids/ A few activities here
Mrs. Jackson’s Class - http://myschoolonline.com/page/0,1871,48624-196200-51-104533,00.html Links she’s used with her gr. 2 class

PBS: Amazonia - http://www.pbs.org/journeyintoamazonia/ Teacher resources is a good place to start here

Perpetual Preschool - http://www.perpetualpreschool.com/preschool_themes/rainforest/rainforest.htm Ideas for integrating

Rainforest Alliance - http://www.rainforestalliance.org/programs/education/kids/activities.html Links to projects
Rainforest Animals - http://www.rainforestanimals.net/ Research data, sounds
Rainforest Teaching Curriculum - http://www.rainbird.com/pdf/rainforest/rainbird_k-1.pdf A 16-pg. pdf document with ideas from Gr. 1- Gr. 5

Step by Step: Rainforest - http://stepbystepcc.com/rainforest.html Great for kindergarten ideas

Carol's Favorite - 2006

The Rainforest: People, Animals and Facts - http://www.christiananswers.net/kids/rainforest/home.html Prepared by a Christian group

Whitehorse Elementary: Rainforest Theme - http://www.yesnet.yk.ca/schools/wes/webquests_themes/rainforest_animals/rainforest_theme.html Excellent resources: Webquests, internet links, online games, and teacher resources and plans
Zoo School - http://www.zooschool.ecsd.net/ Check out the 3 primate sections of this telecollaborative project to get great ideas for research and projects.

List Serve Mailing - September 30, 2006