K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

List Serve - Web Resources

Literacy: Reading

For a complete Literacy Listing, go to Literacy

Balanced Literacy - http://www.thekcrew.net/balancedliteracy.html Teachers have shared their ideas on implementing a balanced literacy program.

Building A Powerful Reading Program: From Research to Practice - http://www.csus.edu/ier/reading.html California schools are targeting reading and this site gives a summary of current research about learning to read.

Beginning Reading - http://www.education.com/reference/article/Ref_Beginning_Reading_2/

Children's Literature Web Guide - http://www.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/ This site has been one of my favorites for years; great access to authors/illustrators; lists of books.

Emergent Literacy Versus Reading Readiness - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et-hcJQO08M 6 min YouTube with Dr. Andy Johnson

First Books for Emergent Readers -  http://www.carolhurst.com/profsubjects/reading/emergentreaders.html A perfect article to use with a parent workshop on emergent and leveled reading.

International Literacy Association - http://literacyworldwide.org/

Key Literacy Issues - http://www.literacytrust.org.uk/Database/index.html The National Literacy Trust's website and online database is provided on a free access basis to help everyone concerned with promoting literacy in the UK to work collaboratively.

Learn to Read with Starfall - http://www.starfall.com/

Patti's K-1 Classroom - http://teams.lacoe.edu/documentation/classrooms/patti/k-1/k-1.html Activities, resources for K-1 and 2-3. A must browse through site.

Professional Development - Invitations to Literacy - http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/res/ Houghton Mifflin's resources on literacy development.

Reading Resources - http://www.ed.gov/parents/read/resources/edpicks.jhtml  U.S. reading resources for parents

Reading Rockets - http://www.readingrockets.org/  Hundreds of articles on everything involved in reading and writing.

Reading Tutors - http://www.reading-tutors.com/ Related to Reading a-z site, but specifically focused on targeted areas; subscription fees

School Express - http://www.schoolexpress.com/fws/cat.php?id=2255 Printables

Teach a Child to Read - http://www.succeedtoread.com/learntoread.html Strategies and skills

Teaching Books - http://www.teachingbooks.net/ This is a subscription service

Wired for Words - www.wiredforwords.com    This online book club has been designed by Teacher librarians with the Calgary Board of Education in Calgary, Alberta.