K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 List Serve - Web Resources

Science - Sea - Sharks

Discovery: Shark Week - http://dsc.discovery.com/convergence/sharkweek/sharkweek.html Photos, online interactive sites, news stories

Enchanted Learning: Sharks - http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/sharks/ Printables

Fiona’s Shark Links Galore - http://www.postmodern.com/~fi/sharklinks/links.htm Long list of links

Gallery of Sharks - http://www.postmodern.com/~fi/sharkpics/ellis/ellis.htm Some drawings and classification of sharks

Graphing Shark Sizes - http://www.learnnc.org/lessons/CaroleLong5232002685 Designed for gr. 3 math

Inquiry Unit: Sharks - http://www.inquiry.uiuc.edu/bin/update_unit.cgi?command=select&xmlfile=u10363.xml Designed for JH, but the links and teaching ideas lead into transferable resources for us

Kiddyhouse: Life Science - http://www.kiddyhouse.com/Teachers/lplifescience.html Scroll down for specific ideas to do with sharks

Learning About Sharks - http://homeschooling.about.com/od/unitssubjsci/p/sealesson7.htm Some integrating ideas

Lesson Planet - http://www.lessonplanet.com/search/Science/Environment/Animals/Sharks,_Stingrays Long list of possible lessons

Let's Explore the Ocean - http://homepage.mac.com/gaylejb/Ocean/Ocean_Lesson_Plans.html A grade one sea unit including a section on sharks

Monterey Bay Aquarium - http://www.mbayaq.org/lc/teachers_place/resources_learning.asp Scroll down for several shark teaching ideas

Mrs. Begg’s Ocean Unit - http://kindergarten2.homestead.com/Ocean.html Some poetry and activities for sharks

National Geographic: Xpeditions - Two lessons http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/lessons/14/gk2/scaredshark.html
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/lessons/14/g35/dangershark.html

PBS Island of the Sharks - http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/sharks/ Extension of the sharks living off Costa Rica.

Shark Friends - http://www.sharkfriends.com/ More extensive than just sharks; convenient drop-down menu to find what you're looking for.

Shark Research Institute - http://www.sharks.org/ Check out the education materials

Shark Surfari - http://www.nationalgeographic.com/features/97/sharks/ Online quiz by National Geographic

Sharks Cam - http://www.aquarium.org/thedeep/deepcams.htm 4 different cameras

Sharks Links - http://edtech.kennesaw.edu/web/sharks.htm  Several categories

Shark School - http://www.sdnhm.org/kids/sharks/index.html Facts, species, games
Shedd Aquarium - http://www.sheddaquarium.org/sea/sitemap.cfm Lessons include sharks

Technology Related Unit: Fishy Facts about Sharks - http://www.sd314.k12.id.us/OurSchool/LessonPlans/DebC/TECHNOLOGY_Sharks.htm

Unit on Sharks - http://www.easternct.edu/depts/edu/units/sharks.html 10 different lesson plan ideas

Whitehorse Elementary - http://www.yesnet.yk.ca/schools/wes/webquests_themes/sharks_theme/index.html Web quests, student resources, teacher resources, and online activities

List Serve Mailing - March 18, 2006