K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

List Serve - Web Resources

Science: Space

Also see: Sun
Also see: Moon
Also see: Planets
Also see: Constellations & Stars

abcTeach: Solar System - http://abcteach.com/directory/theme_units/science/solar_system/  printables

Alfy’s Space Games - http://www.alfy.com/teachers/teach/thematic_units/Space/Space_1.asp  Lots of online, interactive games

Amazing Space - http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/  web-based activities to learn about the Solar System, train to be a scientist, follow a star's life cycle, and more.

Astronomy - http://www.cstone.net/~bcp/3/3MSci.htm  2nd grade lessons;  http://www.cstone.net/~bcp/3/3ASci.htm  3rd grade lessons

Astronomy Activities - http://rip.physics.unk.edu/astronomy/  Lessons open-ended enough to use with any grade

BBC's Space - http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/space/ Beautiful photos, interesting articles.

Childfun Family Website: Space & Planet Activities - http://www.childfun.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=143  They have such good ideas buried in such a sea of advertising! Just look for the center column below one full screen of commercials. It’s worth it!

Collaborative Thematic Unit: Solar System and Astronomy - http://www.libsci.sc.edu/miller/solar.htm  Links and integrated ideas; excellent resource!

Constellations and Their Stars - http://www.astro.wisc.edu/~dolan/constellations/constellations.html  great for research

Cool Clips - http://dir.coolclips.com/Technology/Space/ Clip art in 3 categories: astronauts, astronomy, space shuttles and capsules; perfect for your learning materials, or for student projects

Cool Cosmos - http://coolcosmos.ipac.caltech.edu/main_html/index.html A phenomenal multimedia site

Cyber Sleuth Kids: All About Space - http://cybersleuth-kids.com/sleuth/Science/Space/ Excellent links

Enchanted Learning: Astronomy - http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/astronomy/  Amazing resources for our little guys

Carol's Favorite - 2005

Galileo - http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/galileo/  Get all the information on the trip to Jupiter.

Heavens Above - http://www.heavens-above.com/  Satellite locations

Hubble Site - http://hubblesite.org/newscenter/  Get the latest from the Hubble telescope; phenomenal AV

Hubble Image Gallery - http://heritage.stsci.edu/gallery/galindex.html Real photos that you could use for learning resources http://hubblesite.org/gallery/video/

Hummingbird Educational Resources - http://www.hummingbirded.com/  teachers contributed lots of ideas

In the Sky - http://www.littlegiraffes.com/sky.html  Cute ideas to use in preschool or kindergarten to help integrate learning.

Jack Hulland Space Mission - http://dl1.yukoncollege.yk.ca/excursion/ A grade 6 class from the Yukon took the most extraordinary adventure in learning. You'll get some great resources, idea, and motivational material for your kids here.

Kindergarten Space Unit - http://kindergartenclass.netfirms.com/space.htm  integrated ideas

Kindergarten Tree House: Space Unit - http://www.kindergartentreehouse.com/space.html  A couple of good ideas; book listing.

Mars Rovers - http://marsrovers.jpl.nasa.gov/home/index.html Get the latest information and photos; multimedia

Moon Phases - http://www.astro.wisc.edu/~dolan/java/MoonPhase.html If you need a refresher

NASA Kids Coloring Pages - http://kids.msfc.nasa.gov/puzzles/coloring/  printables

NASA Image Exchange - http://nix.nasa.gov/  Type in your request to see all the AV available

Nine Planets - http://seds.lpl.arizona.edu/nineplanets/nineplanets/nineplanets.html  A multimedia tour of the solar system

Panaramas - http://www.panoramas.dk/fullscreen3/f29.html Multimedia of the moon

Planetary Photojournal - http://photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/index.html  An excellent research source

Pre-Kindergarten Unit - http://www.prekinders.com/spaceunit.htm  simple ideas to use with little ones

Preschool Space Theme - http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/space/index.htm  ideas for integrating

Reading Comprehension Toolbox – Gr. 3 - http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/rcdowni3.htm  printables

Shuttle Gallery - http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/gallery/images/shuttle/index.html Images of the shuttle and missions; multimedia

Sky - http://www.seasky.org/sky.html  Get the latest information for your space unit

Sky Maps - http://www.skymaps.com  Print out night sky maps

Solar System - http://www.siec.k12.in.us/~west/proj/space/index.html  A grade 2 class adventure; games, quiz, research work

Solar System Activities - http://starchild.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/StarChild/solar_system_level1/activity.html  Little online games

Solar System and Astronomy - http://www.libsci.sc.edu/miller/Solar.htm  A collaborative unit for gr. K-3

Solar System Non-Fiction Reading Sheets - http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/rcdowne.htm  printables

Solar System WebQuest - http://www.busyteacherscafe.com/webquests/solarsystem/solarsystem_webquest.htm  For grade 2

Space Clip Art - http://heritage.stsci.edu/gallery/galindex.html Links to several sites

Space.com - http://www.space.com/  An eclectic gathering of all things to do with space, including image of the day from outer space. Worth a browse.

Space Explorers - http://www.space-explorers.com/ includes Mars Simulation

Space Place - http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/en/kids/ Interactive site for research and online games for kids

Space Project - http://www.space.ecsd.net A telecollaborative project with teachers from K-6 in Alberta; in-depth research projects; literacy connections; launch to Mars. These ideas will stimulate your class!

Space/Solar System - http://edtech.kennesaw.edu/web/space.html  Links to resources, online projects, units and lessons

Space Theme Lessons and Activities - http://auc.cmsd.bc.ca/pipermail/kinder-l/2001-January/036144.html  ideas contributed by teachers

Sun and Moon - http://www.cstone.net/~bcp/1/1FSci.htm  1st grade lessons

Sun and Stars - http://www.sedl.org/scimath/pasopartners/pdfs/sun.pdf  a 71 page pdf file that can be downloaded

Surfaquarium - http://surfaquarium.com/NEWSLETTER/NASA2006.htm Walter McKenzie has collected all of the NASA resources on this site.

Teach the Children Well - http://www.teachthechildrenwell.com/science.html#sol  Click on Space, and it will take you to a wonderful source of links to use with kids

Teaching Heart: Space - http://www.teachingheart.net/space.html  links

Virtual Journey into the Universe - http://library.thinkquest.org/28327/?tqskip1=1 Multimedia opportunities

Whitehorse Elementary: Space - http://www.yesnet.yk.ca/schools/wes/webquests_themes/space_theme/space_theme.html  Links
Windows to the Universe - http://www.windows.ucar.edu/ Multi-level reading material on space

Wonders of Space: Trekking for Lesson Plans - http://www.fi.edu/fellows/fellow9/dec98/teacher.htm Huge listing of possible lessons for your class!

Your Weight on Other Planets - http://www.exploratorium.edu/ronh/weight/  Just what you wanted to know before you started your diet!

Zwolle Elementary: Space - http://www.sabine.k12.la.us/zes/space/default.htm  Links

List Serve Mailing - April 16, 2005